New: We've just partnered with LMG to offer you a national gig guide. Check it out!

Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards Announce Nominees

Check out the best in African comedy across these 11 categories.

13 Jul 2017 / Press Release / written by TATC Staff

 Across hundreds of registered comedians, following thousands of votes, the Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards is thrilled to announce the nominees in this year’s 11 award categories.

Comedians, media and industry were the first to hear the names called out at a special press lunch held on Wednesday 12 July 2017 at Katzy’s in Rosebank.

Comedians vote for their fellow comedians, ultimately determining who will be nominated and then go on to receive a Waldo (the Savanna CCA’s statuette), making the awards one of the highest accolades a comedian can receive in South Africa, and Africa.

This year’s nominees are (in no particular order):

Breakthrough Award

  • Skhumba Hlophe
  • Alfred Adriaan
  • Loyiso Gola
  • Robby Collins
  • Tumi Morake

Savanna Newcomer of the Year

  • Thabiso Mhlongo
  • Tsitsi Chiumya
  • Bongani Dube
  • Eric Jansen
  • Summary

Intermediate Award

  • Ebenhaezer Dibakwane
  • Virgil Prins
  • Glen Biderman-Pam
  • Noko Moswete
  • Mo Mothebe

Non-English Comic Award

  • Salesman
  • Skhumba Hlophe
  • Celeste Ntuli
  • Mashabela Galane
  • Thapelo King Flat Mametja

Flying Solo Award

  • Skhumba Hlophe
  • Carvin H Goldstone
  • Celeste Ntuli
  • Loyiso Gola
  • Mashabela Galane

Comics’ Pen Award

  • Mojak Lehoko
  • Trevor Noah
  • Muzi Dlamini
  • Lazola Gola
  • Karabo Lediga

The Nando’s Best Friend of Comedy

  • Goliath & Goliath
  • David Kau – Blacks Only
  • Carvin H Goldstone
  • On Fire Comedy
  • Armchair – Gino Fernandez

Savanna Comic of the Year

  • Skhumba Hlophe
  • Loyiso Gola
  • Carvin H Goldstone
  • Celeste Ntuli
  • Kagiso KG Mokgadi

This is the first year that the Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year Award was introduced, truly taking the Savanna CCA’s into Africa. It has been the awards’ vision for many years to expand into Africa and take the continent’s talent to a global stage. It’s exciting to see this vision come to life for the first time.

The nominees in this category are:

  • Patrick Idringi (aka Salvado) from Uganda
  • Bright Okpocha (aka Basketmouth) from Nigeria
  • Carl Joshua Ncube from Zimbabwe
  • Tshepo “Masapo” Mpiti from Lesotho
  • Fernando Filipe from Angola

The Savanna Audience Choice Award is the only category in which the public can vote for their favourite nominee. Public voting, via SMS, is open and will close on Friday 25 August 2017. Make sure to cast your vote for the comedian of your choice below by texting their unique code and your name to 45757 (each SMS is charged at R1.50 and errors will be billed. Free minutes do not apply). You can vote up to 20 times.

The Audience Choice Award nominees are:

  • Elton Mduduzi Ntuli (unique voting code: 17163)
  • Pelepele Mchunu (unique voting code: 58085)
  • Thapelo Maila (unique voting code: 72116)
  • Luphelo Kodwa (unique voting code: 40009)
  • Thabang ER (unique voting code: 68906)

A highlight of every nominee announcement is the Lifetime Achiever. This prestigious award is made to an act with 20 years or more experience in comedy. The Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards is honoured to announce that Cyril Green is this year’s Lifetime Achiever recipient.