News Opinion

Black Coffee delivers 25 years of Sónar compilation mix

To celebrate the 25th edition of Sónar, Barcelona’s festival of advanced music and digital art, South African DJ Black Coffee presents a mixtape of club ready sounds and influences, showcasing the present moment in global electronic music.

Uniting established artists with emerging talent, Sónar is positioned at the cutting edge of the electronic music landscape, aiming to commit between both a global event and a meeting point for creative talents from around the worldwide.

The relationship between Sónar and Black Coffee goes back almost 10 years when the DJ played his first international set at Sónar by Day in 2009. In the intervening years, the DJ has played at several of the festival’s international editions, including Sónar Cape Town in 2015, and Sónar Istanbul in 2018. Both the festival and the artist share a passion for showcasing talent and promoting exchange between local and international scenes, whether it be through Black Coffee’s globetrotting DJ sets, or Sónar’s diverse line ups at both its Barcelona and International editions.

Delivering a diverse mix laced with a varied celebration of African music, Black Coffee’s mix contains tracks from the likes of Oscar P, Pablo Fierro, Argento Dust, and many more, and showcases the Durban producer’s talents ahead of his closing set on Friday 15th June at Sónar by Day, capping off a day of African artists.

The compilation follows Black Coffee’s recent performances at New York’s acclaimed Terminal 5 venue, and his acclaimed set at Coachella. Having dominated Ibiza in 2017 with his debut residency every Saturday at superclub Hï Ibiza, Black Coffee returns to the club this summer. The house maestro, famed for his dynamic live sets and eclectic mixes, has become one of the biggest stars of the global electronic music scene, reaching double platinum selling status with his multi-award winning album ‘Pieces Of Me’, and has collaborated with everyone from Drake to Alicia Keys, and counts Beyoncé and P. Diddy as fans.

Celebrating 25 years in 2018, the Black Coffee compilation mix marks the latest in a series of special anniversary celebrations, with Sónar Festival recently sending music by various artists into space.

Listen to ‘Sonar 25: An advanced music mixtape by Black Coffee’.


  • Chanell Collen – Signal of Time (Original Afro Tech Mix)
  • Argento Dust & BlaQRhythm – DJ Lindany (Fearless Boys)
  • De Cave Man & Tonic Volts feat. Toshi – Mabudede (Kususa Remix)
  • Hayru Marka (Original Mix)
  • From P60 with Lisa Shaw – Magic (Enoo Napa Remix)
  • Keinemusik (Rampa, Adam Port, &ME) – Muyè (Black Coffee Remix)
  • Oscar P – Fela Chant
  • Pablo Fierro – Kalaa
  • Soulem Feat. Sandile – Nkosazane (Original Mix)
  • Vestaa – The Creation (Original Mix)
  • Argento Dust – We Are Not Afraid
  • Argento Dust – Voicemail