The Pendoring Awards will celebrate creative work in indigenous language at UJ Art Centre tonight

We’re always amped for a good party and tonight’s Pendoring Awards are set to bring it.

Hosted by Hulisani Ravele and Schalk Bezuidenhout and backed up by Bombshelter Beast at the UJ Arts Centre, a diverse offering of with local cuisine and entertainment has set the scene for a local celebration.

“It’s our collective responsibility to create an enabling environment for our indigenous languages to thrive. By putting local languages at the heart of creativity we can begin to entrench multilingualism and celebrate the rich cultural diversity of our society,” said Eben Keun the Pendoring organiser. “The Pendoring Awards are excited to have UNESCO and the South African National Commission for UNESCO as endorsement partners starting this year as part of The Year of Indigenous languages campaign.”

Keun continued: “If our entries are anything to go by, indigenous languages are making significant inroads in advertising! We received a record number of entries, with the isiZulu language entries taking the lead in numbers for the very first time. Debut Pendoring entries in XiTsonga and Tshivenda also serve as a testament to the crucial creative evolution taking place in the advertising and communications space. When we see locally inspired work rising to the top, we know that we are encouraging our nation to break new ground in cultural reinvention.”

Pendoring is unique in that it is the only advertising competition in SA with substantial cash prizes, not only for the overall winners but also for gold and silver winners in each category. The overall winner across all categories will enjoy an overseas trip worth R100 000 as a part of the Prestigious Umpetha Award. The overall student winner is set to walk away with a cool R10 000, while every winner of a gold Pendoring will receive R6 000 and the silver award winners walk away with R2 500 each.

For more info check out their website ahead of tonight’s awards:

The complete list of finalists can be viewed here: