Here are all the winners from last night’s SA Hip Hop Awards 2019 in Joburg

Last night at Joburg’s Lyric theatre, the 8th annual SA Hip Hip Awards took place and can we just get the obvious out the way and say – CONGRATS YOUNGSTACPT. Things take time and it’s about goddam time too. The rapper picked up Album of the Year and Video of the Year (for the Imraan Christian directed video “YVR”).

Other notable wins included Nadia Nakai picking up Best Female, Ginger Trill for Lyricist of the Year, and not forgetting Falko One who received an honorary award.

With the number of categories reduced this year (RIP Kings Of The Province, Best Graffiti Artist and the Best Dance Crew) the awards were a bit more streamlined this year.

Check out the full list of winners below:

  • Best Collaboration – Beast (featuring Sjava) “Hello”
  • Mixtape of the Year – Shane Eagle for Dark Moon Flower
  • Best Freshman – Flame
  • Best Lyricist – Ginger Trill
  • Best Producer – Makwa
  • Best Female – Nadia Nakai
  • Best Male – Flame
  • Honorary Award – Falko
  • Ubuntu Activism – Emile YX?
  • Best Video – YoungstaCPT
  • Best International – Castle Light
  • Best Local Brand – Butan
  • Best Hip-Hop Radio Show – DJ Speedsta and Loot Love’s Absolute Hip-Hop (Metro FM)
  • Best Remix – 25K (featuring AKA and Emtee) “Culture Vulture Remix”
  • Best Promoter – Cassper Nyovest for Fill Up
  • Best Hustler – Cassper Nyovest
  • Best Digital Sales – Nasty C
  • Best DJ – DJ PH
  • Album of the Year – YoungstaCPT’s 3T
  • Song of the Year – Yanga Chief “Utatakho”