These are your Afropunk Joburg Battle Of The Bands finalists, set to compete for a chance to play at the New Year fest

AFROPUNK’S yearly Battle Of The Bands competition attracts a bunch of attention from young artists who aspire to performing on the event’s stage.

And following an exciting list of entries from talented artists across the country, the final four artists to compete this weekend are Raspy, Muneyi, Shameless and Yanga Yaya.

The finalists were selected through a public voting system hosted on where fans got to vote for their favorite band, putting them a step closer to the finals. Each of the finalists will go head to head and is expected to impress fans and a panel of judges which include AFROPUNK co-founder, Matthew Morgan and many other industry leaders.

The winning band will be sharing the stage with local legends and international superstars at the AFROPUNK Festival taking place at Constitution Hill on 30 & 31 December 2019. In addition to performing at the festival, the winning act will win a distribution deal with Africa’s foremost artist development hub, AFRICORI, who are official partners for Battle Of The Bands contest.

AFROPUNK Joburg takes place at Constitution Hill on 30 and 31 December, under the theme WE SEE YOU, a message that brings together AFROPUNK ideology and the people who support it, under the banner of acknowledgment, and in resistance to those who strive to oppress.



Date: 30 NOV 2019

Time: 19:00 – 23:00

Ticket Price: R 30.00

Ticket link: