The Cape Town International Jazz Festival 2020 just casually dropped their second wave of artist announcements and it’s even more impressive

Africa’s Grandest Gathering will provide the stage for some of the greatest names in jazz, including Judith Sephuma, the UK’s KOKOROKO and Ezra Collective, Manou Gallo from Côte d’Ivoire, Earl Sweatshirt and Joel Ross from the USA, and Cape Town’s Sounds of Brass.

They will perform at the Cape Town International Jazz Festival (CTIJF), which will take place on 27 and 28 March 2020 at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC).

In celebration of 21 years of South Africa’s most well-loved festival, event organisers espAfrika have announcement the final list of artists who will make up the 2020 Festival’s stellar line up. 

The following artists will take to the CTIJF 2020 stage:

  • Bombshelter Beast (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • Earl Sweatshirt (USA)
  • Ezra Collective (UNITED KINGDOM)
  • Grassy Spark (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • Joel Ross (USA)
  • Johan Lass (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • Jonas Gwangwa Tribute (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • Judith Sephuma (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • Kuaetnika (INDONESIA)
  • Manou Gallo (CÔTE D’IVOIRE)
  • Sjava (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • Sounds of Brass (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • The Unity Band (SOUTH AFRICA)
  • Saudiq Khan (SOUTH AFRICA)

“For 20 years, the Cape Town International Jazz Festival has brought some of the world’s greatest musicians to our shores. As we celebrate our 21st year of the Festival, Festinos can look forward to yet another unforgettable line-up of some of the greatest names in jazz,” explains Billy Domingo, CTIJF Festival Director.

Multi-award winning artist Judith Sephuma has continued to dominate airwaves for close to two decades.  Since the release of her triple platinum-status debut album titled A Cry, A Smile, A Dance in 2001, Judith has attracted interest and acclaim from Jazz, Afro-soul and Gospel music lovers all over the world.

Embodying experimental rhythms and sounds from West Africa, KOKOROKO is named after the Urhobo – a Nigerian tribe and language – the word meaning ‘be strong’. Drawing on the high energy of Afrobeat and Highlife nights, the musical influences of Jazz, Funk and many other genre’s, the band’s own written music is shaped by the sounds of their home city, London.

Manou Gallo, born in 1972 in Ivory Coast, is a virtuoso and her unique talent is rich with the heritage of her origin of the Djiboi tribe. She plays the tambour (percussion drums) which is normally only reserved and allowed for men in the Ivorian culture.

Ezra Collective’s sound is rooted in classic jazz but features strong influences from Afrobeat and Hip Hop to create a sound that speaks to their home of London. Consisting of Femi Koleoso (Drums), TJ Koleoso (Bass), Joe Armon Jones (Keys), Dylan Jones (Trumpet) and James Mollison (Saxophone), Ezra Collective released their first EP, “Chapter 7” in 2016 and was awarded Best Jazz Album at the Worldwide Awards in 2018 for their second EP, “The Philosopher”.

American rapper Earl Sweatshirt (Thebe Neruda Kgositsile), who recently released his EP Feet of Clay, uses his music to untap deeper issues such as depression and loss, through the poetic talent inherited from his father, Keorapetse “Bra Willie” Kgositsile.

Joel Ross, the most thrilling new vibraphonist in America, grew up in a quiet Chicago South Side neighbourhood, where he began playing drums at church from a young age. He and his twin brother progressed to school and multi-school bands, where Ross took up xylophone and later on vibraphone. Following training with the Brubeck Institute Jazz Quintet at University of the Pacific, Ross went on to create bands ranging from quartets to large ensembles.

Sounds of Brass is a collaboration between some of South Africa’s most talented brass instrumentalists, in which musicians are respectful of the past yet unafraid to push boundaries.

“These unforgettable acts will join some of the best local and international music icons, including Grammy award winners PJ Morton from the USA and Jacob Collier from the UK, South African jazz legend Abdullah Ibrahim, Cape Town’s own Jonathan Butler – with special guest Candy Dulfer from the Netherlands, Kwetu Trio featuring Aaron Rimbui, Herbie Tsoaeli and Ayanda Sikade, songstress Lira, jazz master Mandisi Dyantyis, MF Robots from the UK and South Africa’s Nduduzo Makhathini,” says Domingo.

Come and experience this once-in-a-lifetime jazz spectacular. General access tickets for the 2020 festival are available at Computicket at R999 for a Weekend Pass and R649 for a Day Pass:

CTIJF 2020 award-winning VIP hospitality packages are on sale now, with two-day festival experiences starting from R2 999 ex VAT. Contact Samantha Pienaar on 021 671 0506 or email Alternatively visit for more information.